I crawled over the finish line. early this morning I finished book # 52. That’s right. I actually reached the goal I set for myself at the start of 2011. A book a week.

I was frantically reading as I finished up the semester, graded exams and final papers, finished committee work, visited my parents and cooked for a small army (my family.) thus I had no time to post. So here are the books.

# 45 Warnings: The True Story of How Science Tamed the Weather by Mike Smith

# 46 The White Queen by Phillipa Gregory

# 47 The Other Boleyn Girl by Phillipa Gregory

# 48 Spying in High Heels  by Gemma Halliday

# 49 Lord of Scoundrels by Loretta Chase

# 50 Hot, Flat, and Crowded by Thomas Freidman

# 51 The Buccaneers by Edith Wharton

# 52 The Hunger Games  by Suzanne Collins

Its quite a mix of non-fiction with trashy (really trashy) mysteries, romance novels and historical fiction. Plus a great classic along with a popular YA book. Yeah. This proves that I real read just about anything (I have never been a book snob) and that I love certain books (I re-read Wharton’s novel every Christmas. It is a favorite– a masterpiece of characterization.)

I read a book a week, although admittedly there were weeks when I did not read at all and weeks when I read four books in a row. But I did read a heck of a lot this year.

This whole undertaking did change me. I now read like I used to when I was younger and I have rediscovered the joys of the public library.

Other things have developed over the year and I will reflect on that more in my next post, along with what will happen to the blog now that the project is over (no, its not going away- it will just change a bit.)

But hey- I managed to keep my New Year’s resolution of 2011 all the way to the bitter end. Or at least until 2 am of Dec 31, 2011  (That’s when I finished book 52.)

Happy New Year’s everyone. Its been a fun ride.

Ciao for now,

Bookish C

